This delightful street runs from the Talbot Inn to the church and is of great historic interest and importance. In c1470 John Selwood, Abbot of Glastonbury (1456-1493) undertook to lay out a planned settlement, in the shape of a cross but the plan was never carried to completion and only New Street was built. This little development is the only medieval rural planned settlement in Somerset which it is possible to date firmly. Most of the properties have 19th century alterations, and some were substantially rebuilt in the mid-19th century, but New Street remains one of the gems of Somerset’s architectural history. One of the central buildings on the east side of New Street is the former boys’ school, built by Colonel Horner in 1840. Nearby is an inset panel showing bearing a Talbot hound.(A Talbot was a medieval hunting dog, now extinct, which features on the coat-of-arms and crest of the Horner family and, of course, the village pub).